Lesson Notes By Weeks and Term - Primary 4

State government

Week: 9th

Subject: Civic Education

Class: primary 4

Term: 1st Term

Topic: State Government

Behavioural objectives: At the end of the lesson pupils should be able to explain the following:

  1. a) Meaning and composition of state government-body of people who control the public affairs of many local government
  2. b) The three tiers of government

Instructional material/Reference material: Textbook, charts and pictures

Building Background /connection to prior knowledge : Pupils are familiar with the topic


The meaning of state government

The state government is the body of people who control the public affairs of many local government areas. A state is bigger than a local government because it is made up of many local government areas. In Lagos State, there are twenty local government areas, according to the 1999 constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria. Some of the local governments are Ikeja, Mainland, Ojo, Epe, Ikorodu, Lagos Island, Agege, and Badagry.

Composition of state government

The government of a state is headed by a governor. The governor is assisted by a deputy governor. There are also commissioners who head different ministries. Each state has her capital. The capital of Lagos State, for example, is Ikeja. The capital of Ondo State is Akure, and the capital of Delta State is Asaba. There are thirty-six states in Nigeria.


  1. State the meaning of state government.
  2. What is the composition of a state government?
  3. Mention the three tiers of government.

� Lesson Notes All Rights Reserved 2023